Malaysia Diary: Melaka

Date: January 1-3, 2021

With all the things that had happened for the past 2 years, I realized that mental well-being must also be prioritized. My way of finding myself again and getting back on my feet is to enjoy life with travel. Travel has opened my eyes to new perspective, fed my soul and helped me understand life more.

I packed my bag, took the ride and arrived in Melaka (Malacca), a city located southern part of Malaysia.

Dutch Square

I read that the color of these bright colored structures in the square is called terracotta-red so this is known as the “Red Square”. In here you can find the Christ church, Windmill, Clock tower, the Stadthuys & Victoria Fountain.

St. Paul’s Church

Passing through Stadthuys from the Red square is a staircase leading up to St. Paul’s Church.

It is a Dutch burial vault set up in 1592 when Malacca was the only port in the Straits. Lining the walls, these hefty, intricately engraved tombstones belong to Dutch nobility that were buried here. Inside the ruins holds a rich history of the past though there’s an eerie feeling because it being a graveyard.

A’Famosa

From St. Paul’s Church, a short walk down brings you to a tourist destination in Malacca -The Famosa Fort. This is a famous landmark in town. Around it are canons standing that you can take picture of.

Malacca River & Jonker Walk

Walking around, you can’t miss Malacca River which flows through the middle of Malacca City. If you want to explore the rich Malacca heritage with its stunning landmark, you can avail the your Melaka River Cruise and enjoy a relaxing 45-minute cruise along the river.

We opted for the night cruise.

The cruise was nice with all the night lights along the way and I get to learn a little on Melaka’s history. After the cruise, we went to Jonker street to full our stomach with cheap and sumptuous street food. A very productive night indeed.

-xoxo-

Leave a comment