5 Things I Realized after Running!

Date: August 13, 2017

When you achieved something you haven’t thought of reaching, when it’s beyond what you have expected and the scary things you were thinking of happening were just pure imagination…you just can’t help yourself not to talk about it.

Let me congratulate myself for the effort and determination I fully exerted, and the self-trust I’ve carried throughout in finishing my first run. Plus the first finisher medal I was proud of wearing, which won’t be lonely soon as I have many more medals to collect! Yay!

My legs have been active since strolling is one of my few hobbies. I can walk miles but I never thought of running miles. I get scary of few things and have lots of what ifs. What if I’ll be short out of breath, cramp my legs or the worst, collapse? But as they always say, you need to experience it and be the judge.

After 8 weeks of practice – preparing my legs, chest and lungs, I can attest that they’re worth it. Finishing the 10 kilometers(6.2 miles) in 1 hour and 30 minutes felt like I was just in a walking spree 🙂

Through the sweat pumping experience, I’ve realized few things while I carry my legs forward from the start until the finish line.

1. You are not racing to compete to anybody, but to compete to yourself.
2. Brain over matter. If you feel like giving up in the middle of the race: stay focus, breathe calmly and think that you are going to make it.
3. Support group is very helpful. Cheers and support can boost up your self-trust . So it’s good to have friends joining in and achieve the same goal.
4. Listen to your body, always know your limit.
5. Lastly, free yourself from all the worries, enjoy and let your soul and body be in harmony with your surrounding.

I hope this won’t be the last time I’ll post of stuffs like this. And soon, depends on my guts,  will be creating a dedicated page for all my medals . Hopefully.  🙂

p_20171015_074646

 

 

-xoxo-

 

 

2 comments

  1. This is all SO true! I have a small group of friends who I always do fun runs with and the support we give each other keeps us all going. The friends we cannot get to come are afraid to go because the idea of racing against everyone freaks them out. But its a race for you, not against others (unless you want it to be).
    Thanks for posting this!

    Like

Leave a comment