Philippines · Siquijor and Dumaguete · Travel

Dumaguete and Siquijor: A Travel to Remember

Date: September 3-4, 2015

Oh well, the Silvanas and the vodoo dolls. Here we go!

This travel was impromptu. Yes, I just had like few hours to pack everything up for this escapade. From the terminal, we rode a bus to the south most part of Cebu and from there, we rode a boat to Dumaguete. We traveled early and I was a bit sleepy but the excitement of reaching there was making me awake the whole time. When I think of Dumaguete, I would always think of sweet Silvanas. It’s a sweet dessert famously from Dumaguete. Before we went back to Cebu, we dropped by at Sans Rival and bought boxes of Silvanas.

We didn’t spend a long time in Dumaguete. We walked around the boulevard, had our brunch and took some pics. Then, we went to the pier to get a boat to Siquijor.

The first exciting thing I’ve done in Siquijor was to ride in a tricycle, but was on the backside standing. And I was really really happy. The trip was to tour the whole island. And we were able to do it by the help and guidance of a very nice “Manong Tricycle Driver”. My 30 hours was spent wisely with all the nice places we’ve been to.

Capilay Spring Park –  This is the only park I’ve seen with a spring and it’s free. So.. we went swimming and joined the locals who happened to be having their picnics. Good place for friends and family time, it is.

Fish Spa –  We paid 5 pesos for our feet to be bitten my fishes. It was cheap! and worth it. And within the area is a century old ‘Balete ‘ tree. This tree is not housed by ghost as you think but for fishes, so don’t get scary.

Lazi Church and Convent – Very old and quiet. Make you feel like you are in another time and wearing the Filipiniana.

Cambuhagay Falls – This was where I had my first falls jump and through a root tied in a tree branch (the 2nd exciting thing I’ve done!). I wish I could do the same thing again and again the whole day 🙂

Salagdoong Beach Resort – Yey! Swimming in clear water. And the never ending picture taking under the heat of the sun.

Guiwanon Spring Park – The amazing view was not to be missed. There are cottages you can rent if you wish to stay there overnight.

Dagsa Resto – The all rattan resto that serves good food.

We don’t want to leave Siquijor that early but we need to, sadly. Nevertheless, we went home with full smiles ’cause we know we can always come back.

Aside from the experience, we didn’t spend that much of money on this trip.  🙂

street

fish s pa

 

-xoxo-

Leave a Reply

